28 inducted into the Cape Horn Hall of Fame >> Scuttlebutt Sailing News


The International Association of Cape Horners (IACH) has selected its first 28 inductees for the Cape Horn Hall of Fame. The individuals, all historic and pioneer names with strong sailing ties to the world’s most infamous cape, now have their names recorded for posterity in France on the IACH board posted in Les Sables d’Olonne, home of the Vendée Globe, the Golden Globe and the Mini-Courses Transat Océan.

Names range from Captain Willem Schouten and Jacob Le Maire who first discovered Cape Horn and a westward route across the Pacific to the Dutch East Indies in 1616, Finnish Captain Vern Verner Bjorkflelt who commanded the PAMIR’s last commercial windjammer to round the cape before steam took over from sailing in 1949 and pioneered small circumnavigator boats like Argentine sailor Vito Dumas, Frenchman Marcel Bardiaux and Englishman Sir Francis Chichester.

The inductees were selected by the IACH committee, but going forward Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, the first man to sail solo non-stop around the Globe, and French Cape Horn veteran Jean-Luc Van Den Heede, with 12 visits to Cape Horn, will head a list of eminent experts who will pre-select future inductees who will be elected annually by IACH members. Knox-Johnston and Van Den Heede are both inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Panelists include:
• Sir Robin Knox-Johnston – Chairman
• Jean-Luc van den Heede – Vice-president
• Stan Honey – America’s most famous ocean sailor and IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame inductee.
• Dee Caffari MBE – who has completed 6 circumnavigations and is the first woman to sail solo non-stop around the Globe both west to east and east to west. She too is inducted into the IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame.
• Dilip Donde – the first Indian to complete a solo circumnavigation, now mentoring other Indian sailors to follow in his wake – also inducted into the IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame.
• Ash Manton – President of the Int. Assoc. Cape Horners who rounded Cape Horn in the 1977/8 Whitbread Round the World Race.

Each year, Les Sables d’Olonne, now the home of the Cape Horn Hall of Fame, and the IACH will hold a ceremony to induct new names into the honor roll, to keep the port’s enduring bond alive. French with Cape Horn. This initial ceremony took place on August 31, 2022.

To read or download quotes from the first 28 inductees into the IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame, click here.

28 first inductees:
• Willem Schouten (1567-1625), Netherlands
• Jacob Le Maire (1585-1616), Belgium
• Vice-Admiral Robert Fitzroy (1805-1865), England
• Captain Vern Verner Björkfelt (1900-1982), Finland
• Captain Thomas Carter (TC) Fearon (1813 – 1869), United States
• Captain Adolph Hauth, Germany
• Captain Louis Allaire (1880-1949), France
• Alan Villiers (1903-1982), Australia
• Vito Dumas (1900-1965), Argentina
• Marcel Bardiaux (1910-1958), France
• Sir Francis Chichester (1901-1972), England
• Sir Alec Rose (1908-1991), England
• Sir Robin Knox-Johnston (1939-), England
• Bernard Moitessier (1925-1994), France
• Sir Chay Blyth (1940-), Scotland
• Ramon Carlin (1923-2016), Mexico
• Eric Tabarly (1931-1998), France
• Cornelis van Rietschoten (1926-2013), Netherlands
• Dame Naomi James (1949-), New Zealand
• Kay Cottee (1954-), Australia
• Jon Sanders (1939-), Australia
• Philippe Jeantot (1952-), France
• Titouan Lamazou (1955-), France
• Sir Peter Blake (1948-2001), New Zealand
• Dilip Donde (1967-), India
• Stan Honey (1955-), America
• Dee Caffari (1973-), England
• Jean-Luc Van Den Heede (1945-), France

Source: CIAH


Comments are closed.